Home Unreal Engine

[SpeedTree][UnrealEngine] How do I export AO/Roughness/Metallic map?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
BTDarmstad polycounter lvl 6

Hi everyone! I'm very new to SpeedTree, but I thought I'd learn it for a personal project I'm working on in UE4. The title speaks for itself. When trying to export to UE4, I can't see any clear way to get the essential packed texture with AO, roughness and metallic information. I only get the color map, normal map, and a subsurface map. I can't find any information about it online either, and all tutorials I've found on it appear to be happy with color map and normal map and don't bother with anything else. Really? I also find it annoying how SpeedTree is using gloss instead of roughness, so I have to invert the map and hope it looks correct in the export.

How am I supposed to export the additional texture maps when exporting?

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

First, ensure you have the textures assigned in the material bar:

toolmaterialsassetsbar [SpeedTree Documentation]

Second, check how they are being packed:

expgame [SpeedTree Documentation]

I don't have it installed right now so can only point to docs. IIRC, you need to manually generate the AO by clicking the AO button up on the main toolbar.

It won't be generating a metalness map. I think by default the AO and glossiness get packed together, but I am usually only using color, opacity, and SSS.

• BTDarmstad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Thanks, Alex_J, but I've looked everywhere in those menus, and all I can find that makes sense is which color channel I want to assign a texture to.