Home Adobe Substance

Baking the appearing seams that Normal cannot fix with Substanc painter in UIDM function

Hi, I'm a scene modeler from China. I'm having some problems baking Normal maps with Sustance Painter.

My model needs two UVs, and the Plane of one of the geometry is distributed in two UVs, I use the UIDM function of Substance painter to import the model and bake it. I found a noticeable seam where the Plane of the two UVs intersect. And when I put this model in the same UV, its baking result is normal, I tried many ways, and searched for this problem and checked the official documentation of Sustance Painter, unfortunately, I did not find a solution way.

I tried simulating the process with a block and found the same result, so, I wonder if this is Sustance Painter's own problem? Or am I doing something wrong?

1.UV distribution

2.High model

3.Import settings and Baking Settings

4.Three faces and their normals in one UV

5.The face and its normal in the three UVs respectively

I checked my smooth group and all possible settings, but it didn't work. Of course, I can use Toolbag or other tools to get the right effect. But now I want to understand why this is, hope some super man can tell me the answer, I will be grateful!thanks.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick

Is there enough space between the shells in UV space? Where is the normal-mapped lowpoly model being rendered?

• poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter

That looks normal to me. The meshes are too different in shape for the distance you are viewing them from.

If you want that to look nice from that distance you need to bevel your low poly

• pior
    Online / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter