Home Marmoset

Normal Maps Look Strange

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
coolguyslims polycounter lvl 2

Hello,

I'm new to UV unwrapping and I've been having some problems using Marmoset Toolbag 3. I'm creating a game-ready asset of a SP2022 handgun. I've completed the high-poly model in ZBrush, the low-poly model in Maya, and am onto baking in Marmoset Toolbag 3.

At a first glance I was pretty happy with the result, but when I zoomed in there were a lot of issues. Here is the whole baked model:

Here you can see how low quality the bake is and some weird artifacts on a hard edge.

Here are some more even weirder details and problems.

Here is the normal map. Even though I'm rendering at 2K resolution the normal map seems very pixelated and odd. This weird ballooning effect is everywhere. I only baked the normal maps.

These are the settings that I used.

Also, when I try to import my meshes Marmoset gives me this notice. The high-poly mesh has a poly count of 24 million. I decimated each mesh so I can work with it but didn't want to go too far to mess anything up.

Does anyone know how to improve the quality of my bake and can shed some light on what this error notice is?

Thank you,

Ethan Richards

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

For the issue with the hard edges, it looks like you've set up hard edges but do not have splits in your UV map. You'll need to soften those edges or split up the UVs so the hard edge regions are isolated. See the Best results -> Hard Edges and UVs section here: https://marmoset.co/posts/toolbag-baking-tutorial/#bestresults

In other spots, it looks like there may be areas that are missing the high poly. Make sure to adjust the cage offset so that the cage entirely covers the high poly mesh. See the Baking Basic section of the tutorial.