Home Adobe Substance

Weird artifacts on baking textures from high to low poly

Hii guys,
I am extremely new to the world of 3D and Substance Painter. I am trying to model and texture a game asset from Maya and Substance Painter. The problem I am facing is whenever I try to bake the high poly on my low poly model in Substance, I am getting weird results all over it and can't pinpoint what exactly I am doing wrong. 

I have followed the general advice of:
1. Adding suffix on both high and low poly and changing that setting in Substance to match with suffix.
2. Softening the edges on the low and the high poly.

I have uploaded all relevant screenshots and also the link for my fbx files for both of my high and low poly model. 
Link: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1uR_gloedjVsDTF0sPq1p6l0hWGbRsWdu?usp=sharing

Replies

• Benjammin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin greentooth
    First two pics: your low poly cylindrical elements need more divisions to better match the high poly -You're not doing anything 'wrong' here necessarily; Its a judgement call on how good it looks at the expected view distance in-game.

Last pic has the same issue, but the weirdness happening in the cut outs is because those edges should be hard, or bevelled - normal maps don't like that kind of extreme angle change. 

You shouldn't be softening ALL edges, especially on small details. 
  • Kanni3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    additionally, almost nothing in your uv sheet is perfectly straight. Anything that's on a slight angle/not pixel straight will have tons of stepping/aliasing in your bakes and textures.
  • parikshittiwari
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin said:
    First two pics: your low poly cylindrical elements need more divisions to better match the high poly -You're not doing anything 'wrong' here necessarily; Its a judgement call on how good it looks at the expected view distance in-game.