Home Career & Education

Portfolio applying for an internship

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Terpsichore72 polycounter lvl 3
Hi!

I'm a game art student in France and, well, I have this silly dream of getting an internship at Riot or Blizzard someday. I don't really expect to get it, I'm not unrealistic, but if I don't try, then there is no chance that I'll get one, right?
My other plans include an internship in Paris, maybe at Sloclap? Absolver is great and Sifu looks really good. If you heard of other places creating stylized 3D art where I could go with my level, let me know!

With that in mind, how can I improve my portfolio? Here's the link: https://www.artstation.com/terpsichore
I'd like to get a character art internship. How should I improve the pieces already there? What should I add, or remove? Also, I think I should do more male models, I have a project in mind for that.

Looking forward to your answers!

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I like it! I would suggest removing your 'First 3D Art' piece of the blue woman with pink hair. For future projects, I would suggest adding more polys where it matters, so you don't end up seeing those jagged polygon edges in your portfolio. Good luck getting your first job!
  • Terpsichore72
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh thank you I'm so glad you like it! I'll definitely try to improve on the topology, thanks for the advice!
  • Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    If you want an internship at Blizzard or Riot, pick one of their characters or a concept art that fits the art direction of one of their games and recreate it at perfection. Like, you could put the character you made in one of their games and nobody would bat an eye. Show that you understand how they work the silhouettes, the color shemes, the textures, materials, etc...