Home Adobe Substance

creating tubular weaving?

The Dag Node
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
The Dag Node polycounter lvl 12
Hello. So I just started learning Substance Designer and 'm trying to recreate the pattern made for the Amazing Spider-Man suit by Dustin Brown for the ps5/ps4 game.
https://cdnb.artstation.com/p/assets/images/images/032/415/081/large/dustin-brown-dustinbrown-spiderman-tasm-textile-blue.jpg?1606362346

I'm trying to see how it was put together and what nodes were used, but I really can't see what it says. It's too blurry. Also the version I'm using seems to differ. He seems to be using a transformation 2D node to mask out the weave pattern. However I could not find any way to adjust my node for that effect, so I found and used a crop node instead which makes it look the same. As far as I can tell anyway.

Right now Im looking to make the weave pattern, tubular. I was wondering if there's any tips you have to make it using the weave generator. I found a tutorial where each thread is consturcted one by one to make a weaved basket, but judging from my reference, he didn't use this so I'm wondering how it could be done. Thanks in advance. Also attaching my file if anyone wants to have a look.

Replies

• deginizritli
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    deginizritli polycounter lvl 5
    Original artwork is basically combination of three patterns.
    At the base the weave pattern, which you can actually see if you zoom in to top left corner of the original artwork where the breakdown shot is. 
    Second pattern is dot pattern which is basically five on dice. You can make it with tile generator where tiling is 3x3, pattern is bell and checker mask is on. So this pattern is subtracted from the base pattern. Again, you can see if you zoom in to top left corner of the original artwork where the breakdown shot is. 
    Lastly hexagon pattern where there is a single node for it at designer (alveolus).