Home Coding, Scripting, Shaders

Maya/Python - How to Save Object Inputs/History

Hey magicians. I have something here which is causing me a fair but of trouble.

I'm still relatively new to Maya scripting, so I would like to know if this is feasible.

- Take one or more objects in the scene - Done
- Get their input/history attributes - Done
- Save those to a variable. This is used so for example only the top 3 will be saved. - Done
- Go over each object and it's Inputs/History and delete the top 3. - Done
- "Delete History" Command (so it applies it) - Done
- Reapply/Copy the saved inputs to each object. - Partially Done

I create a dictionary that for each object contains another dict with the input name and its attributes.

Iterating through each object I could gain this info via the following commands:

for node in cmds.listHistory(selection, pdo=2):
    nodes.append(node)

for input_name in object_library[maya_object]:
    attr_list = cmds.listAttr(input_name)
    per_input_data = {} # DICTIONARY PER INPUT DATA

for attribute in attr_list:
    a = str(input_name + "." + attribute)
    try:
        a_attr = cmds.getAttr(a)

The final workable (I believe) data dictionary looks something like so for one object:

{'pCube4': {'polyBevel7': {'offsetAsFraction': True, 'forceParallel': False, 'offset': 0.2, 'fraction': 0.10999999999999995, 'segments': 1, 'depth': 1.0, 'mitering': 0, 'miterAlong': 0, 'chamfer': True, 'angleTolerance': 180.0, 'subdivideNgons': True, 'mergeVertices': True, 'mergeVertexTolerance': 0.0001, 'smoothingAngle': 30.0}, 'polyCube4': {'width': 1.0, 'height': 1.0, 'depth': 1.0, 'subdivisionsWidth': 1, 'subdivisionsHeight': 1, 'subdivisionsDepth': 1}}}

Now, I can then iterate again and apply the operations, with some relative hacking, the issue lies in that I cannot seem to figure out a way to access what edges/faces were affected for those operations.