Home Technical Talk

Struggling with small details on a retopo mesh for a game

node
Offline / Send Message
tmeucci node

I've failed to find anything online to answer my question: Is it acceptable to have multiple, unconnected meshes in a game character?

This sculpted character is for a game, so will it cause any problems during texturing, animating, or even for performance if I were to make these tiny strings on the side of his shirt (and in other places) separate from his body? 

I'm a noob to topology and the retopology process in general. These little strings are already very confusing as it is, without having to connect them to the rest. I'm hoping I may not have to. If I didn't, there'd probably be ~50 additional small meshes on this character.

Ignore the asymmetry issues on the left there

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You can use these kinds of details if you want. However, they don't add appreciably to the silhouette, so they should probably be baked down into normal maps.
  • tmeucci
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tmeucci node
    You can use these kinds of details if you want. However, they don't add appreciably to the silhouette, so they should probably be baked down into normal maps.
    Is this not going to look weird due to the space beneath these strings?
  • Kanni3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    Bake it down and judge for yourself, sometimes you'll be surprised how much fidelity a normal map can mimic. Not to mention the amount of geo + headache it saves.
    will it cause any problems during texturing, animating, or even for performance if I were to make these tiny strings on the side of his shirt (and in other places) separate from his body?