Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Substance] [Autodesk Fusion 360] - Tiling Scifi Materials (Critiques/Feedback needed)

Twahl
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Twahl polycounter lvl 3
Hey all,

I'm relatively new to the Polycount forums, I have read a lot through here in the past while lurking for advice regarding 3d modeling and texture techniques but never really posted anything. Lately I have been working on a set of Scifi environment materials and textures. I was wondering if I could get some critiques on what I have currently created. I started using Substance Painter back in early 2020, so I have been working with it for a little over a year now and made a lot of progress.

For perspective, my general workflow for these textures is to:
  1. Model them using Autodesk Fusion 360 using booleans/extrusions/fillets etc.
  2. Export as a .SAT file and import the CAD geometry to 3ds Max
  3. Export high/low poly meshes (.fbx)
  4. Bake in Xnormal (.png)
  5. Open .SAT of highpoly in 3ds max, assign material ID's to body mesh faces (CAD geometry). Render to texture to create ID map (.png)
  6. Import all mesh maps (normal, curvature, AO etc) into Substance Painter to create the final PBR material. Add stamped height details for further refinement (handles, rivets, etc).

I'd love to hear some critiques and feedback on the work I have currently done. I have not put them into a game engine yet, however I have taken screenshots/renders from substance painter and also prototyped some scenes with lighting in 3ds max. Below are some screenshots of my most recent work. I'm mainly looking for feedback on the roughness values of the textures and if they might be too noisy but feel free to provide me with any perspective or criticism you might have.