Home Technical Talk

Getting an embossed effect with intricate designs on hard surfaces?

I am designing some custom calligraphy in Illustrator, which needs to be embossed on the cap and glass of a bottle in Max. I want it to be a part of the model, which is why I don't want to use a bump map.

So I export the design as a spline, weld some rogue lines and increase the interpolation. However, I can't get the emboss effect quite right since I can't select the edges and then chamfer or bevel them (since the interpolation adds too many segments, and it's not working).

I tried to increase the subdivision and then smooth the result, which produced a less than okay result. Any help is appreciated as I am a newbie. This is an example of what I am trying to achieve:

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bump.mapping is still the way to go for intricate details like this.

Side benefit, you can use the same map to mask other material properties like metalness.
  • lastsky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply. Problem is, I need to have it as part of the model as it will be manufactured at one point. I'm currently trying to make it work with the bevel tool. Hopefully it works out once I get to the complex calligraphy part.

How do you think the artist did the above reference photo models? The white textureless models show that the embossing is part of the model as far as I can see.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh, so they're getting 3d printed?

Check the resolution of the printer, see how small a detail can be reproduced before you put too much effort into things that won't be seen.

If the details must be in geometry, then Zbrush or another sculpting app is the way to go, using the design as an alpha.
  • lastsky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message