Home Technical Talk

Help with weapon modeling?

MrCreamy
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
MrCreamy polycounter lvl 2
I'm a relative novice looking to build up my modeling skills by making some firearms. I decided to start with a Desert Eagle because
A: I thought a handgun would be relatively simple to start with while still maintaining some interesting forms to work on, and
B: the more recent Desert Eagle models have a picatinny rail which I thought would provide a good reference for scale since it's universal in size, or so I've been led to believe.

I went ahead in modeling the rail from specified dimensions, but when trying to align my mesh to any reference I've found, I can't quite get it to match up.

Can anyone with experience in modeling real weapons chime in and tell me if there is in fact some variance in this feature?
I'm also totally open to suggestions as to better ways to approach modeling this while maintaining accurate scale.

Pictured: My current picatinny rail modeled from reference

Replies

• Kanni3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    Depends on your reference image, it'll likely always have perspective distortion, and not line up 100% correctly. Best thing for you to do is look up picatinny rail dimesions, keep accurate to that, and the rest should fall in place, since you can model other details relative to that.

Another quick tip is to model the bullet + barrel first, since those are also "universal", and easy to find dimensions for.

Look up the weapon itself, and you can easily find some width/height measurements on its wikipedia.
  • MrCreamy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MrCreamy polycounter lvl 2