Home Career & Education

How to develop my work further

Hi all,

I'm a graduating student and I've been working on 3d game art for a year and half now.

I'm kind of lost at this stage.

When I see my work, it's not there yet and it still looks like a student's work and I don't think I can just apply for a junior position yet.

I know I should keep practicing, but it's just that there's not enough advice/source that I can establish my workflow or develop my work.

Like, there are so many questions that I cannot quite answer myself such as, "does the model that I create have enough polygons or is it too many", or "how much extent it is considered enough for an asset to be optimised?".

The questions are quite small but I feel like those minor questions are a bit of a hindrance in process of work since I want to make my work better, not creating the stuff at the same level.

I watch many tutorials from youtube/artstation and other sources but I'm not sure if I'm doing things right.

Any advice on this stage of being stuck would be really helpful for me.

Thank you!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    If you haven't made a game or several it will be impossible to answer those sorts of technical questions, or even know which ones to ask.

So, you could learn how to make a game and make one...but that takes a long time and divides your attention. So then, if your goal is to get a job as a 3d artist, I think it's better not to worry too hard about those questions, just make an effort to be as efficient as possible, and put 99% of the worry on "is my art appealing?"

You don't have to know squat about the technical requirements of making art for this or that platform to work efficiently. If you are using more memory (in the form of textures or vertices) to render a model than is needed, you aren't being efficient. That's all.