Home Career & Education

What is the fastest and most efficient way to learn 3D Modeling?

I wanted to ask those with more experience than me what they think would be the fastest path to professional modeling for game development.

In my experience, art tends to be more about whether a piece meets the goals the artist set for it, and less about objective measurements of good or bad; knowing this, when I've given critique or advice, I've always found it incredibly difficult to offer any useful responses to vague questions like "How do I get better?" without at least some context for what better means to that person. With that in mind, I wanted to provide some context for what better means to me. I'd also like to thank in advance anyone who takes the time to read this and respond; it takes no small amount of effort to try and condense years of learning into a form that a novice can understand.

I've been doing 2D art (mainly pixel art) for 8 years. I'm a solo developer, so I won't be applying for any jobs, but it's important to me that I reach a level where I could. As of now I've been modeling for 5 days, and I've included a picture below of all my progress over those 5 days. To teach myself modeling I've been using this method:
 1. Attempt to meet my goal
 2. Stop when I feel I've missed the mark by too much, or feel that I've finished the current attempt
 3. Analyze the work to find where I failed to meet my goals
 4. Find solutions to the areas where I went wrong (usually tutorials on Youtube)
 5. Use new knowledge to either start from scratch with the same goals or heavily modify the previous version

My goals for this character, and for all models in my current project, are as follows, in descending priority:
 1. The model should animate as smoothly as possible with as few polygons as possible
 2. The model should easily and appealingly cut apart for modular use