Home Technical Talk

Blending two objects together without shading issues

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello I'm new to polygonal modeling in general, reached the point where I have sufficient knowledge to make most kinds of shapes given the time frame but still haven't set out to do any cool stuff. My texturing is definitely lacking behind so idk what really is possible during that phase, but I've seen people apply the "chamfer modifier" to weld parts together" in vray/arnold etc. 

My question is, in this case, how would I go about modeling this leg part without actually making at least the cylindrical parts the same object as the foot? The 2 is probably just extruded and chamfered right? 

I'm using Max. 

Replies

• x0rec
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Thanez
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanez interpolator
    It depends what your end product is. If it's a render, doing it in arnold is a nice quick option that'll net you some nice results. If you want this in game, it's usually easier to boolean some of these shapes and do a proper hard-surface workflow to it.
    Either way, 1 is a floater with some geo cut out of it to fit the foot, and 2 would be easier to model as one object.
  • x0rec
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanez said:
    It depends what your end product is. If it's a render, doing it in arnold is a nice quick option that'll net you some nice results. If you want this in game, it's usually easier to boolean some of these shapes and do a proper hard-surface workflow to it.
    Either way, 1 is a floater with some geo cut out of it to fit the foot, and 2 would be easier to model as one object.
    Thanks for your answer man.

Right now, I just want to learn and finish some projects without tearing my hair out and getting down on myself for not being able to get it right.