Home Career & Education

Salary negotiating

GuanAndOnly
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
GuanAndOnly polycounter lvl 6
Hi y'all! 
I was wondering how much do you up the ante when you negotiate your pay? Unfortunately I was pretty underpaid when I first landed my job after graduating, and since I used that as a reference, even after a few years I think my salary is below average. For reference, I'm an intermediate modeling artist making $58k in Vancouver. Would love to know what rule of thumb y'all go by when negotiating, and if you're comfortable with it, what salary and position level y'all have had! :)

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yo yo! I'm an intermediate modeling artist in Vancouver too! I've gone into huge conversations with other artists in the industry on this very topic.

It seems like in Vancouver, people are making between 50-70 as intermediate artists, at animation studios, so you don't seem like you're vastly underpaid. You'll be able to find a ton of threads on r/personalfinancecanada or r/personalfinance about wage negotiations, and those tips always transfer to our industry.

- The more you job hop, the higher your salary is going to be. When moving jobs, have them speak first about the range that this position pays. Then negotiate, always! Job hopping isn't always the best option, but when our industry is mainly contract jobs, nobody really looks down upon someone who tends to leave at the end of contract. When moving jobs, when someone asks what you're currently making, allow yourself to fib and inflate your current salary a bit, by maybe 10%?
    - ALWAYS negotiate pay upon contract renewal. If you think you're underpaid, especially negotiate. Every year, ask for a raise that matches inflation, plus a bump by a few thousand.

I'll summon @R3D in here for some more handy tips.
  • Eric Chadwick
  • marks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message