Home Career & Education

AAA game development and motivation.

Roomper
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Roomper polycounter lvl 5
Hi, everyone.
I've been working in the game industry since 2012. But most of my career was in mobile games. That's not why I started learning 3D and came to game development. I plan to stop making mobile games and move to another country for some single player AAA project in the future. I am not really interested in outsourcing and that's why I should  take my portfolio to the next  AAA level by myself.
I saw great and complex works on ArtStation from those who're currently working on AAA and have free time for their own projects. I'm just wondering - How do you do that? Where do you get the power and motivation to finish it? Do you live in a world where art is the most important thing in life? How do you manage that?
I  always thought that working on AAA it's interesting but hard and you won't have  free time for other stuff. Always crunches,  insomnia, broken health etc.

Thanks for the attention.

Replies

• lluc21
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lluc21 polycounter lvl 5
    Well, I don't have much experience in AAA, but from what colleagues and friends that have been working in AAA for a while tell me, crunch and bad organisation is not necessarily a common thing. There is crunch of course, specially when getting close to release, but it's not like you're working 16 hours a day every day forever, independently of the development stage.

There are also different kinds of people in regards to work/personal project balance. I'd say the people that get out of their 8h 3D job and keep doing 3D at home are definitely not the norm, and I don't think you need to be one of those people to get into AAA
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666