Home Marmoset

Black Edges/Artifacts from Normal Map baking in Marmoset

FernwehMind
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
FernwehMind polycounter lvl 4
Hi, I'm Onur, I'm a self-taught 3d game artist and this is my first topic on polycount. Wish me luck!

My project is game-ready gramophone. High poly modeling of the gramophone is finished in Blender 2.91 but I'm having some problems with the high to low poly baking in Marmoset.

When I try to bake a normal map I get these weird black artifacts on my low poly. I honestly don't know why this is happening. At first, I thought maybe the problem is low poly mesh isn't enough dense to take the information from the high poly correctly. But I guess this isn't the case because I manually add many edge loops and make more high poly.
This polygon count seems enough to me but if it doesn't please help me on this. What should I do to get rid of these artifacts?

The workflow that I followed from the beginning:
High poly - to low poly. I made high poly first with the help of the subdivision and bevel modifiers.
Then I duplicated the high polys and I deleted the subdivision and bevel modifiers. Then manually add edge loops to make the lp follow hp's curvature.
As I researched, this is the most optimal way to make low poly meshes.

If anyone give my any advice on these baking and low poly topic it would be so helpful to me. because I'm trying to fix this for a week.
Thank you.
I'm leaving the hp and lp test models here in case if you need them to inspect them. High poly and low poly is on the same location like it should.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Welcome to Polycount! Moved your topic from Technical Talk to Marmoset, as you're more likely to get informed responses here. Good luck!
  • Kanni3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    Hey man.