Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Question about polygon count for realtime character portfolio

EKDD
triangle
Offline / Send Message
EKDD triangle
Hello, polycount. I am an aspiring realtime character artist and working on my portfolio piece.

Right now, I just finished retopoing the whole character, ended up with around 225k tris including haircards. My question is how many tris are acceptable for a portfolio piece? I did the retopo using quadraw and it took me more than 2 weeks actually and I don't feel like I can do it all over again, but seems like I have to because it is too much tris.. or at least more work on optimizing the one I have.  :'( But wanted to know before jumping into another retopo process.

And one more question, is it normal to take this long to retopo the character?? I am not sure but I don't think it is and it was really tedious process. I guess I should have taken this process into account while I was at the high poly stage so I had high poly that would be much easier to retopo or get by with some remesh..? Anyway, really curious how long it normally takes in the production or other students making portfolios.  

Thanks you, have a good weekend!!

Replies

• JohannesAg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohannesAg greentooth
    All those answers really really depend on the character, could you post some screenshots of your work, including wireframes?
    That being said 225 k is a little high, it´s not uncommon now to have 150 k or more for a main cast character tho. But for personal stuff it´s usually okay to push things a bit,
    Also don´t zremesh stuff.
  • EKDD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EKDD triangle
    @JohannesAg Thanks for the reply. So it doesn't have to be strictly around 100k as far as I understand, which is awesome to know!