Home Technical Talk

Do you use Maya or ZBrush? When modeling ornaments and pillars for a church.

Naoto
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Naoto polycounter lvl 2
 Do you use Maya or ZBrush? When modeling ornaments and pillars for a church like this photo.

I'm not very good at curvilinear modeling, and I'm planning to model church ornaments and pillar crowns as practice.
When modeling something like the one in this picture, do you model it all in Maya or do you create it in ZBrush and retopology it in Maya at work ?

Also, if I want to become an environmental artist, do I need to have enough technical skills to be able to model such a shape manually using Maya?

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Preferably, more efficient too just subd model all those disparate architectural elements:

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Naoto said:

Also, if I want to become an environmental artist, do I need to have enough technical skills to be able to model such a shape manually using Maya?

I wouldn't try to be "good enough" - instead try to be the best environment artist you can be. Learning to model complex shapes like this in any program will help you when you need to model other shapes that are as complex.

I'd try both ways personally. It's not "easier" to do it in zbrush or maya. Especially if you try to get the same quality of result. 
  • CheeseOnToast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CheeseOnToast greentooth
    A hybrid approach is totally viable as well. Try sculpting the basic shapes in zbrush, then use them as a guide for building clean subD topology on top. That said, the figurative stuff in your first image, I would go zbrush all the way.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    i'd do it like cheese on toast suggested too.