Home Career & Education

Digital Arts and Animation Bachelor's Graduate - A bit rusty and could use some career guidance

Hello,

So over a decade ago I graduated with a Digital Arts and Animation bachelor's, more geared towards the game art industry. However, at the time of graduation, a job opportunity presented itself to me to be trained to work high level IT at a friend's company, which I took for a number of reasons. Fast forward to now, I'm still working at that same company. Needless to say I never really used that education from my bachelor's program in my career. Turning 30, it's now kind of hitting me that I dropped my dream for a convenient job. Not only is the regret kicking in, but I'm starting to feel like I'm spending my life doing what I don't really want to do just for a paycheck.

With that, I'm thinking about moving back towards my dream of doing 3d game art for a living, though after a decade of work in another field I can't help but feel that I'm a bit rusty and lost. I could probably use some training to help get me back ready to work in the field professionally, as well as build a new portfolio. I've made an effort to keep my skills up a bit over the past decade, but I haven't been training diligently by any means. I still know my way around major software like Maya, Zbrush, and Photoshop. However, I imagine my art fundamentals could use refreshing, as well as I'm behind on modern workflows and any newer software that may be more commonplace these days. Like Substance Painter - I see that on a lot of job posting requirements, but don't remember any mention of it back around 2010 when I was still in my program.