Home Career & Education

Can I get a job with my current skill set?

DerMalt
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
DerMalt polycounter lvl 3

Hey Guys,

I’m a 3D artist, that has focused the last 3 years (out of 7) on modeling and texturing because I want to get a job in the VFX Industry preferably in Germany. Even though I had an interview last week at a big VFX house and am getting an answer this week, I don’t think my chances are pretty high. Mostly because I have no industry experience at all. This would be my first job.

Over LinkedIn I have talked with some industry professionals, which gave me some great feedback on my work. Nearly all of them told me, that I have the skills to work in the VFX Industrie, I just have to be patient and keep trying.

Unfortunately I have sent my application to all the big VFX studios here in Germany, so I’m not sure where to apply next.
Because I have focused my time on modeling and texturing, I don’t have the skillset to work in a smaller studio, because they are looking for more generalists. I’m currently working on doing some more general projects, but I don’t have much time for that at the moment.

I kind of need to get some sort of job until September, or I probably have to move back to my parents, which I want to avoid. Of course, I could get a job that has nothing to do with 3D, but that is something I want to avoid too. First of all, I then don’t have a lot of time for my 3D work, and secondly, I’m an introvert. So in lots of jobs where I have to talk with customers, I don’t feel very comfortable. It’s not that I could not do it, but I would not enjoy it at all.

So my question is: What kind of jobs can I apply for with my current skill set? Before specializing, I was a generalist for 4 years. But I don’t have projects, that hold up today.

I was thinking of companies, that make model libarys, or companies, where I could start with my current skill set, but would learn to be a more generalist.