Home General Discussion

Texture size: Why use 1024x1024, 2048x2048.... and not a 1000x1000, 2000x2000... ?

Hi everyone, i'm new in polycount, and this is my first topic.
First of all, I'm sorry for my english, is not that good  :#, anyway, I was wandering why the standard texture sizes are 512, 1024, 2048...(and so on)? And why not use, say, a 3k texture? Is in video games development unusual to use a texture size different from these standards?
Is it not enough that the texture is a square?

Replies

• fdfxd2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fdfxd2 interpolator
    power of 2 texture sizes calculate faster, or something

for some reason.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Yes   
    It's all to do with how binary numbers work in hardware

Eg.
    To double a binary number you move  bits to the left 
    00000001 = 1
    00000010  = 2
    00000100 = 4

This is significantly faster than actually working  out what 2*2 is in long form because you can literally just flip some switches in memory. 
    That's the speed bit (obviously there's more to it)

The main thing in terms of graphics is that there's a bunch of GPU stuff that relies on dividing a texture in half over and over again  or works on 2*2 groups of pixels (mipping, filtering, compression, sampling etc). 
    If you have a power of 2 you can guarantee that those operations will work, if not you absolutely cant

• myclay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    myclay polycounter lvl 10
    From Intel;

Since the release of OpenGL 2.0, developers have the option of using textures without specific dimensions. In the past, these texture sizes were required to be powers of two. However, there are advantages to using textures with power-of-two dimensions.