Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fire Hydrant

Hi, I'm Dylan, been modelling for a few months now so I'm still fairly new to all this. This is my first post here and thought I'd share a fire hydrant I modelled recently. This was modelled in Maya, textured in Substance Painter and finally rendered in Unreal Engine 4. Tri Count - 4.5k. All feedback is welcome.

Final Render

Wireframe

Base Colour

Roughness

Normal

The cylinders on the sides in the final product are separate objects, I would've extruded them from the main body but I used about half of its circumference to extrude the front cylinder, leaving no room for the side cylinders. I did try though but I ended up with a very imperfect circle.

I'm sure there would've been a better way to go about it. So again, feedback is welcome.

Replies

• ducklover
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ducklover polycounter lvl 3
    As a solution, I would advise not to extrude cylinders from the main body but just add them as different cylinders and stuck through each other. In a place where they intersect just place a simple loop from polygons for better baking and a general look. Then unwrap all parts and combine them into a single mesh. You can delete all hidden geometry to save texture space.
    Must say that I am not a pro and this is just one of the ways to accomplish the final goal.
    Screens for better understanding:

• Dylan_Koroivatu
    ducklover said:
    As a solution, I would advise not to extrude cylinders from the main body but just add them as different cylinders and stuck through each other. In a place where they intersect just place a simple loop from polygons for better baking and a general look. Then unwrap all parts and combine them into a single mesh. You can delete all hidden geometry to save texture space.
    Must say that I am not a pro and this is just one of the ways to accomplish the final goal.
    Screens for better understanding: