Home Technical Talk

3ds Max PBR Workflow & Materials

Chrismartinartist
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Chrismartinartist polycounter lvl 2
Chances are I'm making things hard for myself lol, but thought I'd explain what I'm doing and then see what people say, I had some other threads on the topic and was reading this article:
That one of the awesome admins here posted. I'm no expert with materials especially for newer workflows, so mainly what I'm after is some clarity with what needs to be separated for ease of compatibility. (Primarily for Sketchfab, CgTrader, Artstation Store, TurboSquid, Gumroad.)

So, I have a scene I'm making with around 20 objects, I'm NOT using Trim Sheet workflow here (I know I could/should have, but didn't want to, not looking for a debate about the pros/cons of it), everything is non-overlapping/unique unwraps, I'm trying to use a PBR workflow with materials from Textures.com. I'm in 3ds Max 2019.

I already had high to low poly Normal Maps baked for every item, as well as Ambient Occlusion maps, I had these plugged in to a standard material just to check everything looked nice using the basic Scanline renderer.