Home Marmoset

Trouble setting up window transparency from Substance Painter export

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Alfax polycounter lvl 7
I'm relatively new to using Toolbag 4 and I can't seem to find any resources that handle transparency masks for objects that aren't purely made out transparent materials. I decided to test the transparency exports from Substance Painter by setting up an old scene on Marmoset, and unfortunately I can't get the transparency export to work at all. What I get is usually either a completely transparent glass pane, or a completely opaque one. Many older guides for Toolbag 3 refer back to Additive transparency, but all that's left in 4 is either Cutout or Dither, and the only way I've gotten my mask to work is to use Cutout in combination with a refractive transmission map.

Here you can see how the dirt and minor reflections in Substance Painter seem to be completely gone in Toolbag 4, despite all texture maps being unchanged from the SP2 export. Keep in mind this is with raytracing enabled and 8 transmission passes.

The transmission and transparency setups are what you see here. I greatly appreciate any feedback that can lead to a better import to MT4. Absolutely adore this program so far, but setting this up has been a bit more difficult than I could've anticipated.

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Refraction is the correct shading model to use for something like this. You'll want to create a mask and load it into the Mask Map slot in the Tansmission panel. White values = full refractive/transparent, while black values = opaque. For instance, if the metal bars were part of your glass texture, you would want those to be black in the mask. For dirt or dust, you would want that to be black or perhaps some value of gray if you want that to be slightly transparent. You can also try adding variation to the normals and/or roughness, making the glass rougher in certain spots can be an effective way to make it look dusty and old.