Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Maya object model (key) - Am I on the right track?

node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
einnemee node
Hi, I am a complete beginner on AutoDesk Maya, this is my first attempt at creating a key that I designed: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/5X2aY1

I am an architectural designer so I have knowledge of 3D modelling in other softwares such as AutoDesk Revit and CAD, but have never done any organic shapes. One of my questions is how much do I need to focus on creating low poly and watertight models? I haven't quite got to grips with these concepts yet and feel like my key model is very high poly for what it is. Any feedback would be very much appreciated, thank you.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    If it's for only visual looks, watertight models are OUT the door generally.  It'll only come back for special cases like deformation use later, VFX needs, among other things.

Something like a key?  Float geo everywhere is fine if it makes your life easier.

Making a low poly model of this only matters if you're going to real-time render/operate this somewhre else like a game engine.  Up to you if you want to meet that technical expectation.
  • einnemee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    einnemee node
    Hi Brian, thanks for your comments. As this is just a first practice it is for visual purposes only, but I would like to learn how to make game ready props so I should learn the low poly modelling techniques - there's plenty of tutorials out there so it's just a case of finding the right ones - can be a bit overwhelming! 

Any suggestions for a good place to start?
  • teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    Hey,