Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Walk Cycles progress [feedback appreciated]

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Semperfoo polycounter lvl 2
Hey people! I've been studying animation for a couple months and now I think I'm ok for taking feedback. I'm creating some walk cycles using the Rain v2.0 rig, and I'll update this post as I finish each one. I would appreciate any feedback you could give. Thank you, guys!

Normal walk: 

https://youtu.be/yMTF5J4_XQE

Replies

• EVernier
    Offline / Send Message
    EVernier polycounter lvl 8
    Hips and spine: Hips trajectory will kinda look like an infinity symbol, that's something to keep in mind. Try to think about your squash and stretch on the spine. When weight falls on the leg, let's say the left leg, then the left hip will rise and the left shoulder will compress down. Do a google search on Contrapposto to help visualize it. Hips also move back and forth in tandem with the up and down motion, both curves will look very similar.

Feet: From the moment the heel hits the ground to when the toe pushes off, the Z (back and forth) has to be linear. When you walk, your foot is planted firmly on the ground and doesn't move from that spot. Stationary walk cycles are like walking on a treadmill and you can create an actual treadmill in Maya with a plane, a few boxes to mark the position of the toe and heel, and animating it with a linear Z translation at the speed you want your walk to be. (let's say your character walks at 1.5m per second and you're animating at 30FPS, then frame 0 would have 0 on the Z translation and frame 30 would have -150, assuming you're in centimers, and you make it a linear spline in the graph editor).

Arms: Definitely animate those in FK. IK is great for a lot of movements, but for cycles you're just fighting against the inverse kinematics to get your arcs.