Home Technical Talk

About workflow

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
zippper4 polycounter lvl 4
Hello :)
I'm fairly new to Zbrush, still experimenting and discovering new applications, and tweaks.
I'm sorry if it souns silly but i'm here to find help after all.

I must say i'm kind of "lost" when it comes to start a project, because i don't really know the "typical" way to achieve the final work through different steps. (Speaking for a video game production so animation later etc.)

I was wondering if you guys could help me in sharing your typical way to finalise your projects (from Scratch to render) please? That would be awesome! B)

Sort of like this :
1/ Ideas, finding references -> 2/ Zsphere or Polymesh -> 3/ First sculpt (Masses, clay) -> 4/ dynamesh [...]
(And so on)

I'm asking that because i think i need like a guideline to go forward till the end. But i always find myself lost when it comes to dynamesh, subdivisions, topology etc. I just don't know in which order i have to do that.
Typically asking myself : "How much resolution for the dynamesh?" , "When i have to transfert details on a low poly mesh?" , "Do i have to do polypaint before or after the little details like skin pores?" etc. So it kind of holds me from moving on. :/

I've red many books and tutorials but i didn't find any that talks about that, most of the time they focus on how to sculpt or the technical aspect of the options in ZBrush.

Anyway sorry for the huge text box, and thank you in advance any help and reading is appreciated, ;)

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    You need to discover this on your own, through trial and error.

Following someone else's flow means you aren't learning the "why's" of each decision. So when things break, you can't fix them easily, because the clean ordered process isn't plain and simple anymore (it never was anyhow).