Home Career & Education

Curious how unions work?

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
poopinmymouth polycounter lvl 19

Some older polycounters might remember I was keen on unionizing back in the early 2000s in games. I still am, but remember the frustration at how little interest their was among other game devs. I've switched careers and now am a member of an active union and wanted to share my experience, now that I've seen a renewed interest in the concept of unions in the game industry. 

I'm a cook, which is a skilled labor class but considered part of the "low wage workers" and rather than a specialty union like welders or midwives, I belong to a general union. We're quite large, 80% female members, and the largest union of immigrants. I pay a fee each month that goes to fund the union, and the union uses this pooled money to pay the salary of the union staff as well as fund the various union funds.

Since I've been a member, I've gotten a raise, a shorter work week, 5 more vacation days (30 now a year), doubled paternity leave, and larger pay raises per education I achieve. Pay is negotiated via unions and then applies to a scale, more schooling means higher salary. Want a raise? go back to school. The union will pay the tuition too, and our higher education isn't ruinous in cost. 

We went on strike! We wanted a raise, and the city of Reykjavík said "nah". Without a union that'd be the end of it, but with a union we voted (93% of members voted), approved the strike (by a huge majority) and then told our bosses we weren't showing up. The strike lasted about a month, and any days we were on strike were paid by the union from their strike fund (the monthly fees also partially go to funding this pool). We won the strike because the city can't function without the kitchen staff, cleaners, and other "low skilled" staff that are so often looked down upon. This is us marching into city hall with drums, signs, bullhorns, and righteous fury at being underpaid.