Home Technical Talk

ZBrush High Poly Character Projection for Interior Mouth and Eyes

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
ChristheLancer97 polycounter lvl 4
Hello,

This is my first time retopologizing a character from High to Low Poly, so I wanted to know what the best approach is to project high-res character to a low poly one with an added interior mouth and eyes.

I've tried several things, such as masking the lips and eyes off where I don't want any projection. Unfortunately that didn't work as well as I'd hoped as those specific parts became messed up, but nevertheless not as bad as without masking.

I've also tried to detach the interiors into different subtools so that I can project the parts I want to more accurately. But I still don't get the proper results:

tl;dr version: I'm basically wanting to know what other methods people use to get an efficient result with Project All when they create the interior mouth and eye bags in their 3D editing software without having sculpted those parts initially.

My last resort idea is to basically go with option 2 and detach the eye/mouth bags and weld it again after projecting, and then sculpting over the messier bits again.. Thanks for listening.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    open the mouth up a bit. you can close it later.  for baking it is useful to have the lips not touching, even if it looks unrealistic. You can adjust them after baking to a rest position.

also check out morph targets and blendshapes. once you know how they work they'll come in handy sometimes for this sort of thing.
  • goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    goekbenjamin polycounter lvl 6
    What I did was, in ZBrush add a layer open the mouth, used that to retopo and bake, later you can close the mouth on the lowpoly.
    Would be interested in how others handle that
  • CheeseOnToast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message