Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Fantasy Forest & Autumn Cabin

Hi everyone! I'm a self-taught 3d artist and looking for a job as a 3d environment artist. Just want to share with you my latest projects. Any feedback or critique appreciated.

Fantasy Forest

Autumn Cabin

Replies

• Ghostling
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostling polycounter lvl 3
    Nice, lighting and foliage look great. The main thing that stands out to me is that the texture for the cabin sign looks a bit too flat and plastic. Other than that looks awesome to me. 
  • Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yeah, looking cool. I agree on the cabin thing. Kinda looks a little too much like a basic cubish shape with a brick texture applied.
  • CHEU_ser2021
    Ghostling said:
    Nice, lighting and foliage look great. The main thing that stands out to me is that the texture for the cabin sign looks a bit too flat and plastic. Other than that looks awesome to me. 

Thanks for your reply! Appreciate! I'm a newbie on 3D modeling. I don't know why my cabin looks so flat after I applied the textures on it in UE4. May I ask if you were me how would you solve this problem and make the cabin looks more realistic?

• CHEU_ser2021
    Yeah, looking cool. I agree on the cabin thing. Kinda looks a little too much like a basic cubish shape with a brick texture applied.
    Thanks for your reply! Yeah, I did make this cabin in a very easy way, as you said, it just a cube. And I found I couldn't make the brick texture's looking as nice as it's in the Alchemist. Here is the texture rendering photo.

And I used the parallax occlusion mapping for the brick's height map in UE4. But it doesn't make my cabin wall looks nicer.

• Ghostling
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostling polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks for your reply!