Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: birb

birb
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
birb interpolator
Hey there! Despite joining Polycount nearly an year ago I never came around posting any work of mine. *gasp* Time to set things right!

I have considerable experience in a tangential area in the games industry—concept art and illustration—, but for all intents and purposes I'm really new to the professional side of 3D art so please, C&C are absolutely welcome!

Thumbnail

Projects

Ruth Wilson as Marisa Coulter Sculpture
Mrs. Coulter (Ruth Wilson)
Start / 2021-02 LATEST
Feng Weis Monster
Monster
Part I: Start | End / 2021-01

Replies

• birb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    birb interpolator
    After writing a critique yesterday I just couldn't get the original concept out of my head. The color work was highly satisfying and that facial structure was a bit unusual. I felt compelled to investigate it in more depth and see if my assumptions were correct.

I don't know if I'll take this piece any further or what, seems too much work for something I'll likely not include in my portfolio—that would be weird after critique'ing it, I don't mean to poach anyone's subject!—but here's the result of my late night sculpting section.

Project Goals

- Get a feel of this facial structure
    - Check my likeness and concept art interpretation skill levels
    - Bonus goal: Concept art expansion skills
    - Practice male anatomy / wrinkled skin
    - Beard!
    - Artistic color stylization in a PBR format
    - Get a sense of a possible mixed Blender and ZBrush sculpting workflow

Original Concept by Feng Wei

A turntable with more or less same light and angle from original.

I took progress shots and I'm sorry it looks so much like "How to Draw an Owl: 1. Draw a circle. 2. Draw the rest of the owl"!

Beauty shot!