Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Personal Game Dev Challenge - Day one progress report

So I wanted to sit down and show off some of the work I have done for a small project I started yesterday my plan is to see how much I can get done in around seven days to text my self allow my self to grow by doing something I've never done before - a Horror game!!! 

so as my spooky adventure starts it felt like I should start by getting the Essential assets done, mainly the arms and all of the Assets the character will hold. from there I will move on setting up the UI and hud along with how I want to design the games structure inventory wise.

the theme of the project was Winter - so I decided to take a Lovecraftian Approach. for this first week of development I want to focus on mechanics and visuals so that everything works and looks right. to eventually see what people think and move from there

my ultimate goal with this is to get opinions, gauge interest and overall learn, so I will be posting my progress as I go to see what people think.

my inspiration for this comes from games and media like firewatch, resident evil 7, outlast, The Thing, Dunwhich horror, and at the Mountains of madness

so here have some highpolys of most of the prime models only two left to do and thats the shotgun and Flare
! all of them have been retopologized and are being prepared to have textured baked, they were made in blender and zbursh.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    If you are developing the entire game by yourself it's good idea to save art until the end. 

Art is contingent on many other things which will change throughout development. So it's good idea to work with placeholder items until the game is like 90% complete, then dig into finishing out the art.

If you do need ot find the look of the game early because it's important consider just building one scene that you could use to make a demo from.