Home General Discussion

Hardware help

node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
JamieGumb1 node
Hello everyone! I’m a beginner to everything here but definitely want to try my hand at modeling; mainly terrain and architecture. Also, I’d like to do programming. Does anyone know a very good computer that will run the programs with ease and is affordable? Thank you!

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    There are extensive resources in this thread: https://polycount.com/discussion/173350/upgrading-or-building-a-new-pc-this-is-the-thread-for-you/p1

https://www.logicalincrements.com/ is a very good site to check too.

Generally speaking, if you're willing to build your own desktop PC, you can get a good system for $1000-1500. Both of the links above detail systems up to $3500 or so but these are extreme overkill for most people.

If you're looking to buy a desktop PC, you'll probably spend a little more for a comparable system. A laptop will cost you yet more for comparable specs and come with some notable drawbacks (poor heat management, poor battery life) if you want a beefy one with a good GPU suitable for 3D work. So laptops are only recommended for 3D work if you travel daily and need to be mobile.
  • JamieGumb1
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamieGumb1 node
    Much appreciated, man! I’ve looked into the Predator Helio 300... have you heard anything about it? People say it’s really good for the price 🤷‍♂️
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Much appreciated, man! I’ve looked into the Predator Helio 300... have you heard anything about it? People say it’s really good for the price 🤷‍♂️