Home Career & Education

Looking for Guidance - A students questions & concerns with getting into the industry as a 3D Artist

Hello All! This will have been my first post on polycount. I will try my best to keep it short but have much I’d like realistic advice on.

Background

First for some background information. I am currently a student studying at university in the states pursuing a Bachelor of the Fine Arts in Computer Game Design with a minor in Animation. I am currently in my 3rd year second semester coming up. This means that internships are going to follow this summer and I have already looked and found some to apply too. Most being triple A (Riot, Bethesda, Epic) with the expectation I will be denied and looking for some smaller ones as well, going to shoot my shot regardless as I will never know if I don’t try. I have been trained professionally only in one 3D modeling software from university, 3DS Max. I have many gripes about how I feel the Game Design Program at my university is very poor compared to the other fields wither it be from the feel of lack of funding or be it lack of care, however this post is meant to find guidance or advice, not complain. I have been doing all sorts of things trying to hone my craft, from watching videos any chance I can to increase my knowledge, working on projects, learning new software through tutorials, upgrading to an actual workstation to help workflow. I am really trying my best to better myself in light of feeling underprepared by university. I have recently finally got a website on wordpress for a portfolio up and have been categorizing and organizing my work. I am even trying to expand my realm of knowledge and doing things such as posting this, this will have been the first time I’ve really ever posted on any forum. The point being, I am trying to work hard to achieve what I want.