Home Career & Education

How high are the chances to get hired from a Studio from another country when being self taught?

Hello everyone!,

As an example:

You are an Environment Artist and you live somewhere in Europe and you want to work at an other AAA Studio lets take as an example a AAA Studio in the US or in Canada you have accomplished the AAA quality of your Artwork and you already have Industry experience in an other AAA company. You are completely self taught which means you didn't studied in that area how high are the chances that you get hired from that Studio and get a VISA in that country?

Iv'e heard that if you didnt studied Game Art its nearly impossible to get hired from an another company outside of your home country but is that true?

I would really appreciate an answer thank you so much in advance!
I hope you had awesome holidays!

Replies

• Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    You have to check with the visa laws in the USA and Canada. I think @PixelMasher said it took him 10 years of work experience to be able to move from Canada to the US? 

Keep in mind these days you might get a chance to work overseas working from home as a freelancer or stuff like that. Moving there is going to be difficult though. If you have the quality they need they and they can't find a better suited candidate that doesn't have to go through the visa process the studio will be probably willing to take the additional costs and work to get you a visa. It will be a disadvantage though when applying.
  • Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth