Home Technical Talk

What is the best way of rigging this mechanical object?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CodeferBlue polycounter lvl 7
Hi Polycount. I'm very new to rigging and I've been looking around for a while now of techniques I can use to properly rig this machine I'm working on. I've found a lot of mixed information and I'm definitely doing things wrong. 

Here is the machine. For now just trying to work with one arm, will be adding 3 more once I know the workflow:

Once I've created the bones, painted the skin weights and created an IK, I get undesired results such as the hinges of the arm misaligning when the IK is moved:

Its not just the hinges, but all the parts misalign when the IK is moved.

Clearly I'm missing something and doing something wrong. So what would be the best way of approaching this? Appreciate any help. 

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    I'm not a rigger by any means, but I believe via an IK rig, assigning joints too an armature (which I think is missing here) allows for control of parented constraints enabling animation as expected. Basics on how this would work, an example in Maya.
  • CodeferBlue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi said:
    I'm not a rigger by any means, but I believe via an IK rig, assigning joints too an armature (which I think is missing here) allows for control of parented constraints enabling animation as expected. Basics on how this would work, an example in Maya.
    Apologies as I don't fully follow what you mean by 'assigning joints to an armature'. I've watched the example video but still struggling to wrap my head around this. 
  • sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    'Joint', is just a Maya descriptive term denoting a 'pivot point' so might be helpful to clarify what you're using to rig the model for more specific advice.

edit:
    Curious, if your base meshes are parented too the individual bones?