Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Benelli M4 modeling and texturing study finished!

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello Everyone! This is my first time using Polycount and posting, so be blunt with me. I can't improve if everyone tells me it's good as it is. Recently I have been into gun modeling and have been working on this project for about a 1.5 months on and off. I would say roughly 40-50 hours of work. 

Link to project page.

This project's goal was to hone in on hard surface modeling in zbrush and further skills in substance painter for realistic texturing. I am satisfied with the end result and what I learned.

Things I could have improved and fixed:
  1. The fact that the Uvs are only on 1 tile really hinders the resolution of the texturing. I did go back and try to split it into 2 tiles but the baking process messed it up bad so I went ahead and stuck with 1 tile instead. 
  2. I do not necessarily know what the "ideal" polycount is for weapons like this but I feel like 22k is a bit too much and I could have taken some time to further optimize the count. 
  3. Some more texturing work could have been done to weather down the weapon more, especially the metal frame of the gun. 
  4. Lighting and Rendering is not my strong suit so those are still improving constantly.

Replies

• teodar23
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    Good stuff!
    But there are a few things i would do different.