Home Technical Talk

ZBrush "Fundamentals" Advice

StormyBA
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
StormyBA polycounter lvl 8
G'Day 

I'm about to start on a new project which by the looks of things is going to be pushing a much more stylized art style and with that comes Zbrush! 

I'm pretty excited to be digging into Zbrush BUT one thing that is for sure is that it is a MASSIVE bit of software. Watching people work they seem to be using so many tools + options etc etc and it is pretty over whelming and it makes it hard to know what are the actual core skills / tools are that I should care about. 

For example, Maya covers SO much ground from Rendering, Modeling, Animation, Physics, particles etc but as an Env artist I know what parts of Maya I need and what to ignore. 

It would be great to hear some recommendations on what aspects of Zbrush for Environment Art. What aspects are Fundamentals must learn, what bits are good to know and what aspects are worth ignoring?

Thanks! 

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    People use zB for a wide variety of purposes so pixologic have responded with tools to fit those needs. Having said that, you can also sculpt in Maya. I dont know what your requirements are but working strategically you might not need zB. You can also try both. Sculpt a tree in Maya and then try the same thing in a zB demo to help you choose. Just enter: 'sculp a tree in zbrush youtube' in google. Try a couple of those tutes till you find a goody. There are a plethora of tools, to begin with only learn the ones you need. A march of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
  • DebendraRoy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not sure about environment art per se, but I think Michael Pavlovich's series (Intro to Zbrush - Part 1) on Youtube is best to get started with. He teaches all of what is required to sculpt a head. I think that should help you get started.