Home Career & Education

Should I leave my current studio?

selectstart
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
selectstart polycounter lvl 3
I'm in my late 30s and had a career change to being an Environment Artist, where I've been working in the industry since early 2017. I was at an indie studio for a year and a half in my city. It unfortunately closed due to funding but we released a small unknown game on PS4 and PC. Since late 2018 I've worked a few remote contract/freelance jobs for small indie studios on games that no one would really know and aren't even released yet.

Since mid 2019, I've been at a remote studio for over a year now working on a game I really enjoy working on. The major issue is, the people that work there have little to no experience and the gameplay itself suffers from that. The game has also had multiple restarts, and lots of people have come and gone within the company over the many years the studio has been around (this is the studios first game, so they’re practically unknown). I've been the only 3D artist on board the last year, but we plan to hire another one in the near future and I have a big role in the hiring process. 

My main concern is, I'm not getting any younger, and I'd love to have other artists that I can learn from in general. The studio head knows we need to hire more people, but it's a slow process and the fact there is no producer or anyone with experience knowing how to keep this ship sailing smoothly (at least as smooth as possible when it comes to game dev) that it's really detrimental to any progress the studio can make.