Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] D&D Goblin Boy - Open for Critiques

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pixel_Fire polycounter lvl 4
Hello, Folks!

I appreciate you taking the time and taking a peek at what I'm working on! I should preface before continuing with this post, this is my first project I've delved into in over 3 years. Last thing I made was some doodle in ZBrush back it 2017 (can be seen under my sketchbook topic). Kinda fell off art due to life stuff and my mental health. BUT I am back and ready to get the ball rolling!

I've been working on this stinky goblin boy for about about 3 months. The progress is very slow due to my nighttime job and me doing deep dives into learning a specific thing. I probably should have made a thread of this much earlier, but I felt like I was on a roll and wasn't stumped on anything. 

This first post will be of the early stage of where I am at currently and my thought process at each step. All posts after will be of my current progress and where I'd like to discuss what I can do to improve.

This is what the first day of sculpting lead me to. Had very little idea of where I was going with this or what I was doing in general. It was more of a test run to see how rusty I was and to just play around in the program.

Here is him much more refined and more confident in my abilities. At this point (and currently) I have no reference for him. It's more of a choose different parts from different goblins that I like and see how those parts fit with each other. This was me trying to decide how I wanted his teeth. The first image had too few, the second too many, and I settled with the third and shifted them around to create asymmetry.

Playing around with what an open mouth would look like with more teeth. Ditched the idea at the current time, but later I'll create a mouth with more teeth.

This is him in his early refined state with placeholder jewelry.