Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Fantasy greek sword [feedback appreciated]

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Semperfoo polycounter lvl 2
Hello again! I'm making this sword for a really small prototype of a friend. He sair I could be creative, and just asked to make pieces that resemble ancient Greece.
This sword is a Kopis, like that side weapon of the spartans from the movie "300", but I also tried to add a fantasy touch with a bluish damascus stell texture. This is the first design I'm really creating from concept, so I'm posting it too.

The proportions of the concept were wrong, it's looking more of a knife, so I had to tweak it a bit.

This is the high poly version:

And bellow i'ts the low poly version:

I'm new to 3D game art, so I have no idea if it's 'ok' for a game asset. If someone wants to share some thoughts I would be greatful :)

Replies

• JohannesAg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohannesAg greentooth
    well it´s hard to tell from just looking at this one view and not knowing what kind of game/style it´s for, but here goes :) .   The blade has scratches and damage but the handle seems like it´s brand new and shiny so there is inconsistency in the textures. I´d recommend posting more pics from different views and info on what this game is supposed to look like. It also feels like you just dropped a couple of materials on the mesh and called the texturing done, I think you should give it more love.
    Good luck
  • Semperfoo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the response, Johannes! The game doesn't really have a "style", my friend is a programmer and didn't give much thought to aesthetics (he really said "just make it 'greece'"). So the art style will be these assets I'm doing, I guess...? I'll link the shields I made before. It's the two last pieces. Maybe it give some ideia about the overall concept: https://polycount.com/discussion/222831/shield-designs-and-a-gladius-feedback-wanted