Home Technical Talk

3ds Max: Help with CPU/GPU Configuration

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi all, I'm building a PC on a somewhat tight budget.
As I understand a high clock speed is necessary for smooth operations, and a good graphics card makes render faster as well as viewport (I think).
so the question is, will a base clock of 3.8 GHz be good enough, or will viewport performance will suck with big scenes and large polycounts?
This confusion along with my budget limits made me think of 4 CPU/GPU configs, my options are:
1. Ryzen 5 3600X + RTX 2060
2. Ryzen 5 3600 + RTX 2060 Super
3. Ryzen 7 3800X + GTX 1660 Super
4. Ryzen 9 3900X + a really bad card like GT 1030 or a better used one if I can find it (in this case CPU will be used for both workload & rendering)
I'm using V-ray and hopefully getting 32 GB of RAM. 
Thanks in advance

Replies

• srsface
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    srsface polycounter lvl 5
    I'm not an expert on current gen CPUs, but I think you got it right: most operations in Max depend on the CPU, and single core performance makes a difference. More and more things are finally getting multi-threaded though, slowly. At least definitely get a lot of RAM. After getting 32GB I couldn't imagine working with anything less.

You'll probably get OK viewport drawing performance even with the older cards you mentioned, but I wouldn't go for them. Even though current GPU renderers aren't always as feature complete as CPU ones, the trend is definitely shifting. Going previous gen on the GPU might be something you'll regret later & quite soon, so I'd say 2060 minimum. Preferably 3000 something.

Also not an expert on scene management but I guess what matters the most in huge scenes is just doing it smartly. At some point you'll run out of resources anyway, even if you get some more overhead for doing things lazily if you invest in a beast.
  • mudawod
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    srsface said: