Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Donte's Marvelous Material Studies

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Donte' Hawkins polycounter lvl 4
Hello Polycounters!

My name is Donte' and I am an advancing material artist! My ultimate goal is to get better at creating materials and will be updating my portfolio once I feel confident that everything is in place and good to go.

Here is a new thread for my material work. I'm in need for some assistance with my materials and will be posting updates as much as I can.

Constructive feedback is needed for:
- Look / Appeal
- Believability / Realism / Style
- Light positioning / Light Sources / Light Colors
- Anything else you might think that will help out!

Target Studios:
- Insomniac Games
- Toys for Bob
- Vicarious Visions

Game References:
- Ratchet and Clank (PS4)
- Spider-Man (PS4)
- Spyro Reignited Trilogy (PS4)
- Crash Bandicoot: N.Sane Trilogy (PS4)

Tutorials Used:
- Substance Academy Series: Getting Started with Substance Designer
- Creating Material Renders by Josh Lynch

Thanks and looking forward to seeing your feedback!

- Donte'

Replies

• Donte' Hawkins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dirt Ground Material

• teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    I think there is a lot of noise in the ground or moss part of the material. The noise is made worse by the shadows or AO and one solution would be to remove that fine noise from the height output and keep it just in the normal. Another issue is that some taller objects like the twigs create stretching because of the height difference. I suggest using a bit of blur in combination with some edge detection to soften those. There is also some clamping happening on the twigs giving them a flat top.
    The pebbles are the best part i think but they overlap and "merge" in some instances.
  • Donte' Hawkins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message