Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-fi Gun

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
AlejandroDiaz polycounter lvl 2
Sci-fi Gun : Development Diary
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/ELNwg8

Hello! once again I bring you a development diary.

The principal idea for the weapon's art style was to generate a Sci-fi pistol or retro Sci-fi with animations and with a "detail stylized". I'm a noob with the weapon creation but I like so much to try new things and have new challenges. Here I explain how I made this weapon.

First I searched a lot of references and I chose two that liked me for their aspect and I merged them to create a "new" weapon but with the same style.

I base mainly on the second picture: the yellow weapon (HGK-1 by Up-Tchi) because it's a drawing and the interpretation of the pieces is freer.

Later, when I had a "final concept", I downloaded 3D pistol model from internet as reference to generate a blockout whit more accurate sizes because I don't have a lot of experience modeling weapons and I didn't know how to start.

After the quick weapon's "blockout", I started with the barrel and also generated two rails, one upper and other lower with inner faces because the element that's around barrel will have animation.

I made different volumes to give the weapon form and I continued with this.

On the other hand I also created different details with geometry in the most advanced pieces. On those pieces I separated the face that I wanted to edit, I generated the form or the cuts in these face, later I attached the face to the piece and I joined it with loops because the tris aren't good for the turbosmooth. Later, when I finnish the weapon bakes I will be able to reduce this geometry to triangles again.

I had an issue with the functioning of the weapon's logic: I set the barrel's position too low and I needed it to be aligned with the chamber.

I fixed this creating the chamber more low than the chamber door.