Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to 3D, Practice sculpts

Everyone in my personal life thinks it’s weird I’m trying to learn to sculpt as a hobby, but I found 3D sculpting apps on the iPad I already use as a drawing tablet so I figured it couldn’t be THAT hard to try it out. Well it sort of is and now I envy you real 3D artists much more.

Flattery aside, I wanted some critique and tips on my first grasps of sculpting. I’ve spent several days on them, which seems way too long for me to still not understand.
I usually draw cartoon or anime-style human characters and that’s what I mostly want to focus on in 3D. I understand a general idea of realism but it’s not what I’m going for: I like small chins and big eyes. 
I’m still learning the tools and what they do. I’ve discovered dynamesh/remeshing, I’ve tried understanding subdivisions but not very sure how they work. I mostly use the MOVE, CLAY, FLATTEN and CREASE tools. 

My YouTube history is full of 3D sculpting tutorials and I spend most of my free time watching and trying to understand what they do.

HARDWARE: iPad Pro 12.9” (2018) 1TB storage 6GB RAM
SOFTWARE: Nomad Sculpt, Forger
EXAMPLES:

forger app sculpt very first time

Nomad sculpt attempt #3 and #4, this entire time I hadn’t used references because I didn’t know how to use references for 3D. For these last 3 attempts I was trying to make a basic cartoon girl. 

For my latest attempt, I finally used references, trying to think in 3D by using turnarounds, other misc tips, as well as using poly-paint on the head itself so that I know where I want features and to potentially mask around, such as making the ear and lips. Also I took advice and tried making a stylized yet still angular man instead of a subtle girl’s face.