Home Career & Education

Easiest way to find a job as a 3d artist?

Hey people,

im a compositing artist. i have 3 years of experience. i worked mostly on tv commercials and some local netflix shows and some movies. i live in Istanbul. but in couple of months i will move to berlin, germany. and the thing is, i dont want to do compositing anymore. im doing some 3d work at home in my spare time and i want to work as a 3d artist. i do modeling and some lighting. and i especially like to do hard surface modeling, but its a bit specific area to dive in, so im trying to find what is the easiest way to find a job as a 3d artist? the situation will be a bit harsh for me and i cant wait for a perfect position and i need to find a position in shortest time possible cause i will need the money to live.

so, what is the easiest way to find a position in vfx industry as a 3d artist? maybe asset artist? or lighter? or what? 

These are my personal, unprofessional stuff you can check;
https://www.artstation.com/burakkuvvetli

Thank you.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    If you find an easy way into the industry, you can sell the secret for a lot of money to a lot of people trying to get into the industry ;)
  • foco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If somebody had asked me what was the easiest way to be a compositor in the vfx industry i would say, he/she should start with rotoing and lots of clean plate work. So he/she could start as a roto/paint artist. Its not even a hard thing to start in vfx as a junior compositor. I wouldn ask for money or anything. And thats not a secret either. So, same manner, i wanted to ask same thing to 3d artists. I dont think i have to pay money for some honest suggestions.. if you dont have any idea please stay silent. If you have some suggestions please share..
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter