Home Technical Talk

Duplicate of a duplicate ( what is happening ? ) can be removed

Worraps
node
Offline / Send Message
Worraps node
Hello everyone.
Few days ago, I opened this thread https://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2734111#Comment_2734111 concerning the basic pipeline to follow when you want to make a game asset. I've received the answers I needed to start a project and try to follow the "checklist" of the 3D Game Artist. BUT of course I'm a newbbie and, you can guess if I'm here, I encountered somes issues. 
I base my project on this link : http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Texture_Baking, I know I won't necessary have to do each one of theses steps, but anyway I'm already stuck to step 3 x) Looking back, I might be gone a bit too far with the details and the complexity since this is my very first attempt following the game asset workflow, but I have hope once I will have completed it I will have learned a lot ! 

So here is my High-Poly mesh made in Blender : 
I tried to retopologize, then UV and test some normal baking with Blender internal tool, and I quickly saw it was absolutely terrible, be prepared ( Yes this is a 4k normalMap) : 

So after that big failure, I came back here and read anything I could find about Normal Baking, UVs and LowPoly from HighPoly. So I quickly understood that I had to start over the step 1, after the HighPoly modeling, because the first of my problems was that my lowpoly geometry was too lowpoly and not close enough from my highpoly mesh, especially for all these cylinders. I know I have also done a terrible job while UV unwrapping, but this will come in a second time.