Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Criature in progress, I need feedback. Can't reach the general forms properly.

Capitto
node
Offline / Send Message
Capitto node
Hi all! I'm a noob and amateur artist!

I'm having problems with the head and the legs of my criature, i think that i can't get the correct general and secundary forms. I come here to see if you can give me some feedback.

Thank you so much.

And my references. As you can see i started with the natural armour that the criature have, just to make the basic form to add late that scates.

Replies

• birb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    birb interpolator
    Keep in mind that even when the concept has different views it was still done by a person freehanding it on a 2D space. Mistakes will be made, some features won't be shaped correctly to produce the silhouette or depth seen from different views. Try to identify the key features responsible for the design distinctiveness and work towards translating those to 3D, modifying secondary elements to support those when they get into the way of the key ones.

This side view is beautiful, yet it's a horrible reference to copy uncritically. The creature is walking, so all legs are either stretched or tensed and its torax is also compressed while the spine is curved to accommodate it. You'll have to do a number of educated guesses here to get to a true neutral pose.

Your sculpt is lacking the "elbow" in the front legs, which are also a bit sunk in. Move the hands a bit forward to relax the leg, add the elbow and point it outwards. The knees would also read better if you point them a bit outwards, and the hips should be narrower, with gluteus forming a triangle with the knees.

This creature strikes me as scales plastered on a free adaptation of a tamandua mixed with a tapir, so you can look at those to fill in some anatomy gaps.

You're doing a good job overall. I'm looking forward to seeing more!
  • Capitto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message