Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Stylized elf character Texturing feedback

wisra
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
wisra polycounter lvl 3
Hello people. So i have been working on the first draft of my textures to my elf character and would love some thoughts and feedback on what i can improve. Especially on the face since its my first time texturing/painting skin. And i know the color scheme is a bit all over the place and i have not really made up my mind of what color sheme i want. But if u got any thoughts or feedback on that it would be cool too. 

Im working in substance painter and have taken inspiration from Overwatch and some other PBR stylized games.  

Sincerely Linus!  :D

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Do you have it from more even studio lighting where it's coming from the top?
  • wisra
    Offline / Send Message
    wisra polycounter lvl 3
    well so the funny thing is that i kinda messed up with the high poly so its kinda upside down both in zbrush,maya and substance. And i noticed it to late so i just went with it. Is that someting i should fix ? or can i fix the lightning in substance ?
  • Fabi_G
    Online / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter
    Hi :)

I would fix this in the 3d App. In a pipeline you would want the models' transform to be correct before passing it on, so why not make it a habit?

As the textures are now, large areas miss variation, this makes the character look flat. I recommend using gradients to set visual focus. Super fine scratches and grunge could be added in final pass and should fit stylistically. I would be cautious with too much edge wear, it depends on the material (wouldn't show on folds in cloth). I think the face looks pale and is missing color zones. Maybe you can use some info from the dota2 character guide?

Keep it up!
  • wisra
    Offline / Send Message
    wisra polycounter lvl 3
    Fabi_G said:
    Hi :)